Udupi: Competitions for Konkani Students
Posted On: 17/02/2008 18:15 GMT
Print this page Feel free to ask your question Tell a friend Browse archive

By Dr.Gerlad Pinto - Kallianpur
Udupi 17th Feb: Konkani Sangatan (Kala, Sahitya, Anim Sanskriti) Udupi District conducted various contests today for the students of sixth Standard who study Konkani as third language at the Don Bosco Hall Udupi.

Prof.Vincent Alva the member of Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy inaugurated the competitions. He congratulated the students for taking Konkani as the third language in their academics and their parents for their initiative, support and encouragement towards their children.

The contests were held in “Story telling, Letter writing and Konkani Quiz”. Mr.Alphonse D’Costa, Lidwin Pinto, Joseph Fernandes Udupi, Clotilda Fernandes, Veronica Saldanha were the judges. Dr Gerald Pinto conducted the quiz.

Rev. Fr.Vishal Lobo Udupi parish and Mr.Edwin D’Souza Principal, St.Philomena Pre University College Puttur were the guest of honour. 

The following schools took part in the competitions. St.Francis English School Mudarangady, Milagres English School Kallianpur, Marynol School Barkur, St. Francis  Udyavar, St.Lourdes Kanajar, St.Philomena Kemmannu, St.Cicily’s Udupi, St.Lawrence Belle.

The results were declared and the following were the winners of the event:

Story Telling:
First: Jane Mathias – St. Francis School -Mudarangadi,
Second: Melisha Fernandes St.Francis School -Udyavar 
Third: Ruth D’silva -  Milagres English School - Kallianpur

Letter writing:
First: Carol Ferrao -  Milagres English School - Kallianpur
Second: Akshitha Sonia Lobo - Marynol School Barkur
Third: Lavita Sequeira - St.Lourdes School - Kanajar
Konkani Quiz:
First: Alita Anna Fernandes and Renisha Dias - Marynol School Barkur
Second: Flaksan D’Silva and Jeevan D’Souza - St.Lourdes School - Kanajar
Third: Arlin Mendonca and Carol Almeida  - St. Francis School -Mudarangadi
Dr.Gerald Pinto the President of the Sangatan Presided. Alphonse D’Costa and Lidwin  Pinto compeered the programme. Louis D’Almeida the secretary proposed the vote of thanks. The members of executive committee Anita Monis, Ignatius Monis, Walter Cyril Pinto, Valerian Fernandes, Thomas Carnelio co-oprated. Raknno and Kajulo, Amcho Sandesh Konkani Magazines and Mr.Edwin D’souza were the sponsors for the prizes. All the participants were given consolation prizes too.

Edited & Published By Raj Francis Pereira


Post Your Comments
Your Rating For "Udupi: Competitions for Konkani Students":
Average Fair Good Very Good Excellent
For our security purposes your IP address is recorded.
Your IP address is
Please help us to fight spam by entering the security code as shown in the image:
security code